The pains and joys of raising two girls

This morning, I’m awakened by my 3 year old daughter Katie.  She is already dressed up and ready to go to daycare.  My 5 year old Lily is still asleep so I tell Katie to go downstairs and watch a little tv until her big sis wakes up.  Well, an hour passes and I decide it’s time to wake Lily up.  I go into her room and start to wake her up.  Katie follows me in, begins to rub Lily’s back and whispers for her to get up.  Katie even gave her a kiss.  It was real sweet and makes you feel good as a dad that your kids love and respect one another.

Well, fast forward to tonight when I had to pick them up from VBS.  They were fine leaving the church, but when we got into the car all hell broke loose.  Katie had left a cup phone (2 cups shared by one string) in the back seat.  Katie basically screamed as loud as she could to get it back because it belonged to her (we actually had the same fight at dinner time about a yo-yo).  Well, as Lily is playing with it, Katie grabs a hold of one of the cups and rips it from the string.  As you can imagine, Katie gets REALLY demonic mad at Lily for “breaking it.”  I look at Katie and tell her that she’s the one who actually broke it.  (What a dumb move on my part).  Katie begins arguing with me that Lily was the one who broke it, then Lily gets upset and begins yelling at Katie.  Katie in turn yells at Lily and I have to yell at both of them.  (Another dumb move).  They both yell back.  Great, a 3 minute ride home is turning into yellfest the ride to hell.  I finally get sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo mad that I tell them they can’t go to VBS for the rest of the week because they can’t listen and are arguing with me.  (Obviously I’m not taking them out, but I had to threaten something….so I’ll probably take ice cream away).  Well, those yells turn into both girls crying uncontrollably.  Awesome.  We get home, they run to mommy and then get ready for bed.  All is well then, nothing but hugs and kisses from them to me.  (Breathe in, breathe out, relax).

So, we ran the gammit of emotions today….happy, mad, sad and back to happy.  As a parent, there’s never a dull moment.  Just do your best and try again tomorrow.

About imtryingtowatchthegame

Let's start with the basics, I'm married with two daughters and a puppy dog. I have three favorite sports teams; the Indianapolis Colts, VCU Rams and the University of Kentucky men's basketball team. I served 4 years in the United States Navy aboard the mighty USS Kearsarge. I love sports and coaching basketball.
This entry was posted in Family Fun, Random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

